Full width home advertisement

Post Page Advertisement [Top]

Kisses and Croissants Anne-Sophie Jouhanneau young adult books contemporary blog tour giveaway
Tour Schedule

As sweet as a macaron from Laduree, with writing as crisp as a freshly baked baguette, this romantic novel set in Paris about an American ballerina and a charming French boy is parfait for fans of American Royals and Netflix’s To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before.
Kisses and Croissants Anne-Sophie Jouhanneau young adult books contemporary blog tour giveaway

Kisses and Croissants

Anne-Sophie Jouhanneau
Date of Publication: April 6, 2021
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Seventeen-year-old Mia, an American girl at an elite summer ballet program, has six weeks to achieve her dreams: to snag an audition with one of the world’s best ballet companies. But there’s more to Paris than ballet—especially when a charming French boy, Louis, wants to be her tour guide—and the pair discover the city has a few mysteries up its sleeve.

In the vein of romances like Love and Gelato, this is the perfect summer adventure for anyone looking to get swept away in the City of Love.

“What did you do?” I ask, holding my breath. Mom shrugs.

“I kept up with my lessons. I auditioned for the smaller companies. And then one day I realized that it wasn’t going to happen for me. I could have persevered, but the more I thought about it, the more I felt like ballet didn’t want me. I’d spent years of my life on lessons and competitions, and I had nothing to show for it. I was tired of the disappointment, of the rejections. So I went to college in Philadelphia. At first, I thought I’d feel completely lost and that I’d regret giving up my dream. But I didn’t. I had a great time. I made friends, I found new things to get passionate about, and I met your dad. I have a great career, I love my job, and I can take my daughter to fancy lunches in Paris. I don’t regret a thing.”

I exhale slowly, trying to process this story. I didn’t really know my mother until now, and it’s partly my fault. All these years when we argued about my passion for ballet, I never thought to ask her how she truly felt about it.

“Giving up is not the right choice for me,” I say, my voice steady but my hands shaking.

Mom smiles. “It took me a long time to see it, but I know that now. I'm sorry I haven’t been more supportive of your dream. I was just trying to show you that you could be happy without ballet. But Grandma Joan told me you found our ancestor, the danseuse ├ętoile. I know what it means to you.”

She reaches across the table and takes my hand. I feel exhausted, battered. I don’t think I’ve fully accepted what happened to me, and what life will look like for me in the next few months.

"I want to become a professional ballet dancer. This is what I’ve always dreamed of,” I say, more to convince myself. “But what if it doesn’t happen?”

Mom nods slowly. “Then you will be okay.”

“Will I?” I take a deep breath and bite my tongue. What kind of faux pas would it be to start crying in such a fancy restaurant?

“Mia,” Mom says, determined. “Look at me. Soon this will just feel like a small bump in the road. Trust me.”

“I missed my chances with ABT. Twice.” “I thought I wanted this more than anything else; then my life took a different path, and it was perfect. This isn’t about missing chances. It's about enjoying the journey. You should pursue your dream for as long as you want to, but you should also allow yourself to change dreams along the way.”

I nod and silently get back to my meal. I want to believe she’s right, but I can't shake off everything—and everyone—I’ve lost in the last couple of days. Still, I know it deep inside me: I’m going to dance again.


Excerpted with permission from Kisses and Croissants by Anne-Sophie Jouhanneau, Copyright Delacorte Press, 2021.
Anne-Sophie Jouhanneau author of Kisses and Croissants contemporary romance young adult book

About the Author


Anne-Sophie Jouhanneau is a bilingual French author of young adult fiction and nonfiction. Her books have been translated into seven languages. Kisses and Croissants (Delacorte Press, 2021) is her U.S. debut. After graduating university in France, she moved to Amsterdam to begin a career in advertising. She then spent a few years in Melbourne before settling in New York City, where she lives with her Australian husband and their American cat.


1 COPY of KISSES AND CROISSANTS by Anne-Sophie Jouhanneau
International | Ends April 19, 2021

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Ayanami Faerudo

No comments:

Post a Comment

Bottom Ad [Post Page]