Waiting on Wednesday: How to Hang a Witch by Adriana Mather

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine. This meme spotlights upcoming releases that I'm eagerly anticipating.
---

How to Hang a Witch
Adriana Mather
Expected Publication: July 26, 2016
Genre: YA Paranormal
For fans of Conversion and Mean Girls, comes a debut novel where the trials of high school start to feel like a modern day witch hunt for a teen with all the wrong connections to Salem’s past.

Salem, Massachusetts is the site of the infamous witch trials and the new home of Samantha Mather. Recently transplanted from New York City, Sam and her stepmother are not exactly welcomed with open arms. Sam is the descendant of Cotton Mather, one of the men responsible for those trials and almost immediately, she becomes the enemy of a group of girls who call themselves The Descendants. And guess who their ancestors were?

If dealing with that weren't enough, Sam also comes face to face with a real live (well technically dead) ghost. A handsome, angry ghost who wants Sam to stop touching his stuff. But soon Sam discovers she is at the center of a centuries old curse affecting anyone with ties to the trials. Sam must come to terms with the ghost and find a way to work with the Descendants to stop a deadly cycle that has been going on since the first accused witch was hanged. If any town should have learned its lesson, it's Salem. But history may be about to repeat itself.
Now the infamous witch trials - something I always thought of as religious propaganda overkill and that many who were killed were innocent people - a period of turmoil and what I mark as the start of modern witchcraft history, the old mixed with the new.

It seems I would never outgrow my fascination with witches and their history. I grew up with Charmed; and although they weren't really accurate and they twisted witchcraft for the show, it certainly fed my fascination with witchery.

Ayanami Faerudo

No comments:

Powered by Blogger.